BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Hi All,
I am back again with the most frustrating issue I have ever dealt with and I am a diesel/heavy equipment /auto tech for over 30 years!
This bike has pushed me to my limit. The problem comes and goes like the wind and the last fix was to replace the AFM which I was sure was the problem. The bike ran well for 3 days and then all of a sudden it started smoking black and running rough again.
I have replaced and or verified the performance of the following. Water temp sensor,plugs, hall switches,pump, FPR,AFM, filter, battery,switch, check spray pattern on injectors! I probably missed something but it is intermittent and I am ready to burn this beotch!!!!
I have been dealing with this thing for over 1 year and have ridden it only 100 miles. I am seriously frustrated!!!!
HELP!
I do not want to send to dealer$$$$$

Rick G

Rick G
admin
admin
It is very obviously running rich, the first thing to check is the temp sensor and you have done that next is the MAF (mass air flow) sensor which you refer to as the AFM which you have also checked and gave the ok.
What is next for me is seeing that it ran OK after you messed with the MAF then went cactus I would now be thinking a bad connection in that circuit.
Have you been over all the plugs and contacts with Deoxit so as to be really sure they are clean.
I dont think I was involved in the last time you asked here so please bear with me.
If the vacuum drops off at the fuel pressure regulator it will make the fuel pressure increase and would make it run rich, have you checked the vacuum line from the #4 throttle body to see if it is broken and intermitently causing the problem. This could be the cause as when you replaced the MAF you were working close to that line and as it has a wire spiral to protect it a break would be easy to miss.