BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Back to top Go down   cam cover removal Empty cam cover removal Tue Jun 05, 2012 8:08 pm

Life time member
Life time member
A bit of advice if you would, sage bretheren of the K forum.....

I'm stuck removing the front cam cover (just being cautious as it's my first time doing this). CAn't seem to get the back plate of the hall effect sensor out, all fastners removed. Also the oil pressure pipe/wire to what and how is it connected - not giving with a gentle tug and I don't want to force either of the above bits. They are all that's standing between me and removing the cover for cam chain inspection and painting.

thanks

88KE

"The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page." - St. Augustine from 1600 years ago & still true!

K1 - 1989 - AKA Titan (unique K1/K1100RS hybrid by Andreas Esterhammer)
K1100RS - 1995. AKA Rudolf Von Schmurf (in a million bits)
K100RS - 1991 AKA Ronnie. Cafe racer project bike
K75RTP - 1994
K75C - 1991 AKA Jim Beam. In boxes. 
K1100LT 1992 - AKA Big Red (gone)
K100LT - 1988 - AKA the Bullion brick. Should never have sold it.

2Back to top Go down   cam cover removal Empty Re: cam cover removal Tue Jun 05, 2012 8:18 pm

Two Wheels Better

Two Wheels Better
For clarification purposes, this procedure sounds more like the front timing chain cover than the cam cover, which is the left hand side engine cover.

The oil pressure and water temp switch leads are a pull-off design on the end of the switches themselves. After prising off the rubber boots a gentle twist and tug sideways, as they're the mushroom type (at least one of them is/not pushed straight on), will get them off. The leads then feed through the timing chain cover.