BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

browe58

browe58
i have a leaking rear master cylinder so i decided to take out the piston to inspect the seals and clean the bore. fairly easy job but i didn't flush the system per the clymer manual. i pinched the reservoir hose, took it out, cleaned everything and put it back together. i pushed the piston in & out several times to expel any bubbles from the reservoir but there was none. put everything back together but when i pressed the foot brake the piston got stuck inside the bore and of course the rear brake was locked. attched a hose in plastic bottle to the rear caliper bleeder, loosened it and rear wheel was free. but piston still won't come out. how do i get it out at this point???? thanks.

Two Wheels Better

Two Wheels Better
A nozzle backed by a healthy shot of compressed air down the opening at the other end does wonders...pointed away from any people or objects...unless you're not fond of them.

You did slide the piston back in right end round?

The Mystic, Big Block, 2nd K1200RS, K12R & K13 are running & ridable.

browe58

browe58
thanks, got it out by wedging a bolt wrapped in duct tape in the piston shaft opening, pulled down on bolt while pulling out. and yes i had it in correctly but i probably didn't put enough brake fluid in the bore and the piston before inserting it. turned an easy job into a project but i now have fresh fluid in the system w/ no more leaks!!!

browe58

browe58