BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Back to top Go down   Fuel tank repair Empty Fuel tank repair Sat Feb 21, 2015 1:11 pm

Jimish

Jimish
I've been given a K 75C fuel tank. It's got a series of holes on the underside, both sides, caused by corrosion and I want to repair it.
I'm considering 2 methods. The first is to use LUMIWELD, which I have never used before.
The second is to use JB WELD, which should be much easier, I think.
Has anybody repaired a holed petrol tank before, if so, how?
Would anybody care to comment on my choices of repair?
I would appreciate any input. Thanks.sick

2Back to top Go down   Fuel tank repair Empty Re: Fuel tank repair Sat Feb 21, 2015 2:28 pm

Stan

Stan
Life time member
Life time member
I had a hole in the seam of my tank, which looked small pinhole. I took it to an aluminum welder...the hole was indeed 6mm in size. No problems..welded and apart from the welded section no paint damage. Happy with job andI know it is a permnament job. Good luck.

3Back to top Go down   Fuel tank repair Empty Re: Fuel tank repair Sat Feb 21, 2015 3:29 pm

Crazy Frog

Crazy Frog
admin
admin
I used JB Weld on different tanks and it never leaked after.
As a preventative maintenance (?) I applied the JB Weld all over along the front part of the seam.
If you have a pin hole, the aluminum is certainly corroded right beside it and you may want to patch a longer strip to avoid surprises in the future.

4Back to top Go down   Fuel tank repair Empty Re: Fuel tank repair Sat Feb 21, 2015 3:40 pm

Comberjohn

Comberjohn
Life time member
Life time member
Common problem with tanks getting older now.
I've had to repair two now using that two part putty that you can buy for repairing radiators, pipes, etc.
Works ok but don't try to use some that's been lying opened for a while. It does seem to go off and doesn't harden properly.