BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

roys

Silver member
Silver member
hi,

newbie question - I am very new to this - sorry if I am asking the obvious.

The sight-level glass is completely fogged and I cannot see a thing.

Is there any other way to measure oil level - perhaps directly?

Roy

K-BIKE

Life time member
Life time member
Hi Roy,
Pop into your dealer and buy a replacement window they are available without difficulty and replace the old one. Two ways to do that drain the oil and use a soldering iron to burn a small hole in the window and then punch a hole into the backing plate and screw a coarse self tapper screw into the holes and yank it out. Many dealers use another method - reach up from below when the drain plate and filter are off and punch it out from the inside with a drift. On a K bike oil the new one before pressing it in using an appropriately sized socket, R bikes are driven in dry to make them harder to get out because R Bikes are known to blow them out occasionally but K Bikes never do

roys

Silver member
Silver member
Hi,

ah, if it was only possible to "Pop into your dealer ". there is only one official dealer in entire (very small) country and attitude and prices are what you would expect.

I need to import most things.

Before I do these more drastic steps I need to know if there is some kind of workaround whereby one shove a rod into the oil filler opening to get a reasonable indication of what is the oil level?

Thank you,
Roy

blaKey

Life time member
Life time member
I have the same problem with my K100RS due to the "dirty" sight glass.
The only thing I can think of is go for a ride, change the oil, pour in the EXACT amount of oil (don't forget the difference when you change the filter too).